CO Fishing License Basics
What Does a CO Fishing License Cover?
A state of Colorado fishing license covers much more than fishing. All annual licenses come with a mandatory $10 habitat stamp to help protect wildlife and a 25-cent search and rescue fee that covers you in case you become lost or hurt in the wilderness.
CO Fishing License Bag / Catch and Release Limits
Your CO fishing license allows for both catch and release and the taking of fish from all public Colorado bodies of water. Keep in mind individual rivers and ponds might have their own rules on catch and release or bag limits for certain fish types and sizes. Local laws and regulations take priority over general state fishing rules so always look them up before fishing a new area.
CO Fishing License Fees
- Resident / Non-Resident
- Annual Fishing License: $34.75 / $96.75
- Annual Small Game / Fishing License: $49.75 / N/A to non-residents
- Annual Senior fishing License: $9.75 / N/A
- Annual Youth Fishing License: $9.75 / $96.75
- One-Day Fishing License: $13.75 / $16.75
- Five-Day Fishing License: N/A / $31.75
- Additional Days on Temporary License: $6.75 per day
- 2nd Rod Stamp: $10.75 / applicable on all license types
A fishing license covers one person and one fishing rod. If you use multiple rods at the same time you will need a 2nd rod stamp.
Colorado fishing licenses are valid from April 1 to March 31. All licenses expire on March 31 no matter when you originally bought the license.
Where to Buy CO Fishing License
Online and Phone
You can purchase fishing licenses at any Colorado Parks and Wildlife office.
If someone is selling bait or fishing equipment, chances are good they sell Colorado fishing licenses too. When in doubt head to Wal-Mart, Cabela’s, or Dick’s Sporting Goods.
Get Fishing in Colorado
By purchasing a Colorado fishing license you’re helping yourself and the spots you fish at. Before you hit the water make sure you and your whole group are licensed for an uninterrupted day on the water.